Ever wondered how much money you lose from not being positioned at the top of Google?
Let’s take a look.
We took the time to see how much money an under performing website (not in the top 3 placements on Google) losses in business based on real time data from Google.
For this case study we decided to pick the industry of “Roofing” in the Canadian city of Vancouver.
Here’s what we know about people looking to hire a roofing company in Vancouver.
Fact 1; based on a small sample of keywords (roofing company, roofer, roofing company Vancouver, roofer Vancouver, new roof) people type these into Google every month on average 240 times per month. Note that we excluded keywords that could trigger smaller jobs, like repairs.
Fact 2; the average Roofing Company website has a conversion rate of 3%. Some have much less, and some a little more.
Fact 3; According to the study, the top listing in Google’s organic search results receives 33 percent of the traffic, compared to 18% for the second position and 12% for third position, and the traffic only degrades from there. So in short, if you’re not in position 1, 2 or 3 you’re missing out on 63% of the possible website visitors.
So what is the true cost of having poor performing SEO?
Based on 5 Keywords
240 people search for a roofing company every month in Vancouver. An underperforming website is going to miss out on 151 clicks at 3% website conversion that is 4.5 leads or 54 leads a year.
Most roofing companies can close one in ten leads that come from the website. A new roof is in the region of $25,000.
Potential loss of business per year for a website with poor SEO; Missed 5 booked customers at $25,000 = $125,000 in missed business.
Based on 705 Keywords
Now what happens if we expand that to 705 roofing related keywords as provided by Google that get searched every month. The number of people searching in Vancouver is now averaging 5,500 searches.
An underperforming website is going to miss out on 3,685 clicks at 3% website conversion that is 110 leads or 1320 leads a year.
Again most roofing companies can close one in ten leads that come from the website. A new roof is in the region of $25,000.
Potential loss of business per year for a website with poor SEO; Missed 132 booked customers at $25,000 = $3,300,000 in missed business.
Of course not every job is going to be $25,000 but even at the lower end of missing $125,000 a year in business it’s interesting to note that many roofing companies aren’t investing into organic search engine optimization.
The result, long term opportunity for those that are.
This applies for most sectors and in particular traditionally trade based industries serving a specific city.